Vikas Gupta: Software architect

Cleared Cloudera Certification for Apache Hadoop

Posted by Vikas Gupta on September 2, 2012

Today, I cleared Cloudera Certification for Apache Hadoop. I scored 90%. In this blog, I would like to share my preparation and test experience.

Preparation Tips

I started learning Hadoop in June, although I had been procrastinating it for a long time. I bought Hadoop: The Definitive Guide (HTDG) and started reading it. I must admit that I found this book at too much to handle and got a bit distracted by the details mentioned in this book. So, I searched another book and found Hadoop in Action. I must say that hands on approach of this book got me started and I enjoyed trying out the examples provided with this book. I studied first 6 chapters of this book and started feeling confident about writing Hadoop code.

Although, I could write hadoop programs, being an detailed oriented person, I was missing the details provided in the HTDG. So, I picked that up once again and started reading it with zeal and was able to follow the details this time and actually started enjoying the intricacies of the Hadoop framework mentioned in this book. For certification, I read first 8 chapters of this book. I recommend everyone to read Chapeter 11, Pig and Chapter 14, Case Studies to get better equipped and pratical insights about Hadoop.

So, in the end, I would say, for the certification reading the Hadoop: The Definitive guide is enough if you understand the concepts mentioned in this book. Opionally, one may buy Hadoop in Action, as it provides better code samples specially for Joins and Chaining jobs.

Examination Experience

I gave the examination at NIIT Centre at Preet Vihar as it was easily accessible from my home. After the initial setup, which included creating my id and login on the pearson website, I was directed to the computer on which my exam was setup.

As the exam started and I clicked Next, I was expecting some instructions to appear before the exam. But, to my surpise, I got the first question. Just for the future test-takers benefit, I would like to mention that there is a Help button towards left hand side on the bottom of the screen, which can be referred for any help. In this test, you can mark a question for review and also go back and forth and change answers.

Now, about the exam, I would say that the exam was good and some of the questions have fairly close answers and if one has not prepared well/or is not thorough with the concepts, then it is not difficult to falter in this exam. In short, make sure your concepts are thorough, which can be done, either by having practical experience, or as in my case, studying thoroughly and learning concepts of Hadoop.

Once, I was done with the exam, I clicked finish and soon the score flashed. I was happy to see the score, though, I felt, I could have done better.

Some useful links

If you have any questions about preparing for certification or need any other help in Hadoop, you can post a comment or directly email me at techvikas79@gmail.com

My certificate

For those who want to know how the cloudera certificate looks like, this is the certificate CCDAH certificate.

 

24 Responses to “Cleared Cloudera Certification for Apache Hadoop”

  1. Ravi said

    Hi, I am Ravi, writing the exam on next week. Just want to ask
    1) Will javadoc API questions be asked? In detail ?
    2) How will you rate the exam for a beginner?
    3) Any other tips?

  2. Chandra said

    Congratulations Vikas, I just happened to read this article and thought to write back.

  3. Arun Ganesh said

    Hi Vikas, Congrats on completing this certification.Thanks for this blog…It was useful. I am planning to do the admin certification shortly. Please share if you have any details on it.

  4. Vineeta said

    nicely explained

  5. RP said

    Congrats Vikas.Can you please let me know where i can get soft copy “Hadoop in Action” book.

  6. zenzen said

    Congratz on the cert! You said you started learning Hadoop in June, this post is from September so I take it that it took you around 2-3 months to prepare for the exam? I am thinking about learning Hadoop (since I’m still a beginner) and taking the exam. How long do you think one needs to prepare?

  7. Srinivas said

    Congrats Vikas. what are the prerequisites to learn Hadoop Administration.
    My background is development, but I’m interested in learning Administration.

    Please need your advise. Thanks in advance.

  8. asn said

    Hi Vikas,

    Kudos for the cert….!!
    I am a java developer since last 3.7 yrs…now i want to shift the paradigm…and figured learning / getting certified in hadoop could be good way.
    Please tell me if a java dev. with no backgound or actual wok profile in haddop will be able to find job in hadoop.

    Because my aim is land a good job out of this cert.

    thanks in advance?

  9. Ashvarya Sharma said

    Hi Vikas,

    Congratulation on the completion of the certification!!!
    As its almost a year after your certification, can you please comment on the job opportunities that you see now after the certification.

  10. nilsaw said

    Hi Vikas,

    I cleared my exam last week too.
    You are right about Hadoop-the Definitive guide, I found it difficult to study considering I had no background in hadoop whatsoever. The concepts are not arranged properly. But I could not find any other viable options. So after wasting about 2 months of time and almost giving up the idea(I am working full time on the side too.) I went through the Yahoo Hadoop tutorial guide and then went over the book and things became much clear. The exams are really not that tough if you understand the concepts properly.

    If you follow the right steps w/o any guidance 2-3 months are good enough.

  11. Arun said

    Hi Vikas,

    Congrats on completeing the cloud era certification.
    I have 5 years of exp on datawarehousing.
    I want to switch to hadoop.
    Will a certificate of cloud era give me a head start on it.

    Regards,
    Arun

  12. Abhay Godbole said

    Hi Vikas,
    Congratulations!!!
    I have booked my exam on 11th Oct. What is the coverage of Hive, Pig, Sqoop, Oozie in the exam, I mean is the material from Definitive guide is enough?

    Thanks & Regards
    Abhay

  13. Kumar said

    I have 5 years of experience in Mainframes and would like to switch to Hadoop. Am currently doing Hadoop training in an institute. I hope the books you have mentioned would be sufficient. Since your post is dated 2012, can you please let me know if these books still hold good. Also, the companies which I can opt for, once I complete my certification and get enough knowledge.

  14. Vikas said

    Congrats and thanks for sharing Vikas.I am from SAP background and no working programming experience.I want to clear CCDAH.Will jav be a hurdle?

  15. hemosho said

    Thank you so much for sharing the details!

  16. Rishi Kapoor said

    Hello Vikas,
    Its good to have all the positivity after reading your blog about Hadoop certification.

    I am linux administrator for last 3 years, and i am interested in Cloudera Certified Administrator for Apache Hadoop. I am very keen about it, but a little concerned about the job prospects after this.

    Any advice will be much appreciated.

    Thanks & Regards,
    Rishi Kapoor

  17. gayatri said

    Hello vikas,
    Is there any website which can tell me how the cloudera question paper looks like?

  18. Rahul Madaan said

    Hi Vikas,

    I have 5 years of experience in Microsoft Integration and .NET and now I want to learn and switch my job to Hadoop, would doing cloudera certification help me in getting Hadoop job ?

  19. Hii vikas sir ..Iam preparing for hadoop exam ..I want your facebook link .

  20. Dipali Ghatge said

    Congrats Vikas..your experience will surely help me…

  21. Dipali said

    Congrats.. Vikas your experience is Inspirational

Leave a Reply

 
